Calming a Rumbly Tumbly

bbqPooh had it easy.

When he got hungry, he set his sights on the nearest honey pot. I’m not so easily satisfied, particularly on the road, always prowling for THE MEAL, one that becomes symbolic of the trip itself. It borders on OCD and bothers my family to no end, particularly my youngest, who would choose Chili’s-any place, any time.

I prioritize restaurants in advance of a trip and they’re generally not places listed in travel books. Instead I’ll search back issues of food mags like Saveur and archived episodes of series on the Food Network.

The Pit Raleigh

Case in point: Raleigh, North Carolina. We were not going to miss dinner at The Pit, not after reading in Bon Appetit that the pitmaster, Ed Mitchell, barbecued his first whole hog and swigged moonshine at 14.  Briefly discouraged by the 1 and 1/2 hour estimated wait, we chose seats at the bar instead. Great decision. Our bartender was chatty and deeply in love with his adopted hometown. He recommended local draft beers and guided our dinner selections. Sated and sticky, we pushed back our stools. While settling the bill, he asked if we’d been to B’s BBQ yet, a shack with unpredictable operating hours and legendary food.

I left with directions and a mission.

Greenville BBQ

17 thoughts on “Calming a Rumbly Tumbly

  1. Glad to hear someone else is like this! Fortunately, my new-ish boyfriend and I are both OCD about The Meal. I find it dear when he starts apologizing about his fussiness as he turns down place after place, scrutinizing the menu. I’m like, “Nope, let’s find the right place cuz we’re gonna remember it, esp. if it’s real good or real bad.”

  2. So true that the quest for good food in strange cities or countries is a highly challenging one…one should always stay away from the tourist ” traps” and be wary of friends suggestions, that doesn’t always pan out either.

    • Good to know. When we considered ditching The Pit because of the wait, we were going to head to Ole Time, but I really wanted a beer and that place is dry, right? Sometimes sweet tea will do, but others…

      • I’ve only been there at lunch and usually had to drive to Charlotte afterwards so I wasn’t thinking about drinking. My guess is that you’re right. I don’t remember seeing any beer there. I’ll have to try The Pit next time I’m in Raleigh.

  3. I’ve eaten at “The Pit” several times!!!! It is a wonderful place to eat!! You can go in formal ware, dress leisure, or the holiest blue jeans you can find; this crowd will make you feel right at home…. and the food is off the chain….. “The Pit” should be on every bodies bucket list! Take Care and God Bless :-) Kenny T

  4. This is great! I never put much emphasis on food so I appreciate a differing opinion. Maybe I should try expanding my horizons?? And thanks for following my blog; I’ll be sure to check yours often! -Katrina

Leave a Reply

